Saturday, October 13, 2012

"Mourning Mist" World Premiere Scheduled for March 2013

Russo's quintet "Mourning Mist" for guitar and string quartet will be given its world premiere performance at the Long Island Guitar Festival at Long Island University (in Brookville, Long Island, NY) in March 2013 -- at 8pm on Wednesday, March 20th.   You may find out more about this event by clicking here.    You may listen to a computer generated sound file of this one movement tonal work by clicking here.

Sunday, September 30, 2012

2nd Symphony World Premiere Scheduled

On Saturday, March 23, 2013 Orchestra New England will give the world premiere performance of Russo's Second Symphony at Battell Chapel in New Haven, Connecticut.   This is a tonal work in four movements.   More information about this Orchestra New England concert can be seen by clicking here.
If you would like to listen to the computer generated sound files of the four movements of this symphony you may do so by clicking here.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

New Music for Flute and Piano

Russo recently completed work on his new music for flute and piano: West Fork.  It is a one movement tonal work inspired by his hike at West Fork (near Sedona, Arizona) with his friend John Levno.  Russo composed the work for John and his wife (and superb flutist) Celinda Anne.  If you would like to hear a computer generated rendition of the piece you may do so by clicking here.

Thursday, August 2, 2012

New music for French Horn & Piano

Russo has recently completed composing "Mountain" for French Horn and Piano -- he created this tonal one movement work for his friend and excellent French Horn player Lisa Pike.  If you would like to hear a computer generated sound file of this music please click here.

Lisa will be giving the world premiere of this music on September 27, 2012.  Here is the information about her recital:

Thursday September 27, 2012  12:30pm  Shea Auditorium.
  William Paterson University  Wayne, NJ

The location is called Shea Center for Performing Arts.
 300 Pompton Road
 Wayne, NJ

"Living La Vida Local" (Alive and Living Locally)

Other works on the program: by Amram, Schickele, Ewazen.

Lisa Pike. horn
Karen Dempsy, flute
Elizabeth Rodgers, piano                           

Monday, January 23, 2012

Renown conductor Arto Tchiftchian comments on Russo's music

Renown conductor Arto Tchiftchian comments on Russo's music:
I heard your disc with orchestral works and I am very impressed.
Your music is very beautiful and has his own atmosphere with elegiac character and nostalgic, regret feeling for the lost harmony.A remembrance of persons and places of passed times.In slow, meditative portions and lyric moments of your music you are in the tradition of great American poetry of E.Dickinson and H.Longfellow and in the same time you show a very great talent for melody line in the fast tempi.
I want to have chance to conduct your music one day.
With all my best wishes
Arto Tchiftchian
Renown Bulgarian Conductor -- now residing in Los Angeles, USA