Tuesday, October 3, 2023

Fifth Symphony completed

 Russo has completed work on his Fifth Symphony.  This four movement tonal symphony is scored for 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 French horns, 2 trumpets, 2 trombones, timpani, percussion and strings.  The music was composed for Orchestra New England in its 50th anniversary season (2023-2024).

First movement: Allegro  11:30

Second movement: Adagio ma non troppo  07:30

Third movement: Allegro - Presto  05:30

Fourth movement: Allegro con brio - Allegro - Allegro con brio - Presto   09:30

This symphony is scheduled to be first performed by Orchestra New England on May 4, 2024.

You may listen to the computer generated sound files of each movement below:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.