Monday, July 23, 2018

New Orchestra Piece -- Remembrance -- Completed

After the moving premiere performance of Russo's "Forever Young" Overture at a New Haven (CT) Memorial Day concert (with Orchestra New England) 2018, Russo decided to compose another piece for our veterans: "Remembrance" - the piece expresses the various emotions associated with our memories of those no longer here....upsetness (that they are no longer here), the warmth of our memories, the joy of our memories and finally the happiness of our memories.  The piece is scored for 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 3 French horns, 3 trumpets, 2 trombones, 1 bass trombone, 1 tuba, 3 percussionists (timpani, tubular bell, tam-tam, bass drum, snare drum, triangle) and strings.  This one movement tonal piece runs a little over 6 minutes.

If you would like to listen to the premiere of this music you may do so below..

Sunday, July 1, 2018

Flute Orchestra Music Completed

Russo was commissioned by flutist Helene Rosenblatt to compose a signature piece for the newly form Connecticut Flute Orchestra -- this two movement work is dedicated to this fine ensemble.  This flute orchestra music was completed in June 2018.  It consists of two tonal movements: one depicting the Connecticut State tree (Mountain-laurel) and one depicting the Connecticut State bird (American Robin).

The world premiere of this music will happen on Sunday,  September 16, 2018 at 2 PM at Crowell Concert Hall, Wesleyan University, Middletown, CT .  Directions to the concert location are here: .  This concert is free and open to the public.

If you would like to listen to the computer generated sound files of each movement you may do so below.

Hope to see you at the concert on September 16, 2018!