Sunday, July 10, 2016

New work: New England Portrait Completed

On July 9, 2016 Russo completed work on a one movement tonal work called "New England Portrait".  This piece is scored for 1 flute, 1 clarinet, 1 bassoon, 1 piano and strings (...the same instrumentation as Copland's "Appalachian Spring".   This programmatic music expresses the feelings of various New England activities throughout one typical day.   Here are the activities (in order of appearance in the music):  Daybreak, Playtime, Friendships, Playtime Again, Go to Church, Church Hymn, Sunset.  This one movement work runs approximately 20 minutes.  If you would like to listen to a performance of this music you may do so below. 

UPDATE: Russo's New England Portrait will be given its world premiere by Orchestra New England at the United Church on the Green in New Haven, Connecticut at 7:30pm on Saturday, February 25, 2017.   (Russo will be playing bass on this performance).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.