Monday, July 23, 2018

New Orchestra Piece -- Remembrance -- Completed

After the moving premiere performance of Russo's "Forever Young" Overture at a New Haven (CT) Memorial Day concert (with Orchestra New England) 2018, Russo decided to compose another piece for our veterans: "Remembrance" - the piece expresses the various emotions associated with our memories of those no longer here....upsetness (that they are no longer here), the warmth of our memories, the joy of our memories and finally the happiness of our memories.  The piece is scored for 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 3 French horns, 3 trumpets, 2 trombones, 1 bass trombone, 1 tuba, 3 percussionists (timpani, tubular bell, tam-tam, bass drum, snare drum, triangle) and strings.  This one movement tonal piece runs a little over 6 minutes.

If you would like to listen to the premiere of this music you may do so below..

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.